OT's Notes

Additional Pokemon related notes! I'll sometimes write about games here that don't need their own journal section too.

Gen IV | Gen V | PL:A | OT's Notes

Return Home


Mar. 19 Tuesday

Hello everyone! As I mentioned on my homepage, today is one year since I made this site! Though my neocities profile states Mar. 20, I started building it offline on the 19th. I'm so happy to have this site to express my love for Pokemon and document my adventures!

Though I'd also take this opportunity to talk about Legends Z-A! Something about a new Johto/Unova game just wasn't sitting right with me, so I was truly pleasently surprised to see this! I really wonder where it will go. I remember enjoying XY but feeling so sad after the lack of post-game, which as we know was saved for a second game that never game to be...until now!!

I'll hopefully start updating a lot more. I had a chaotic end of 2023 - all good things! - but as I was analysing my life in preparation for the new year, and I realised I had pushed out any time allocated to just enjoying myself and relaxing. Which for me, is honestly indulging in Pokemon games and making fanart and fanfic XD So, I've started playing Platinum just when I have a spare half an hour instead of doing something like scrolling on the computer. I also drew some fanart which I posted here, and I made a Tumblr too. I can't believe how many notes it got!! This must mean me and all these people have amazing taste, right?!

What else has happened...I've also spent a few pennies on collecting Pokemon cards with art I really like. I will make a page for this soon! I have all the cards I chose in this Clique. I put them in a polaroid style album among other cards I had from when I was a child. I just really like some of the artwork on them and I find looking at art in person is such a more personal experience. At the moment, my dream card is this one of Cynthia...but I need to wait until I have some Birthday money or something XD

I think thats it for now!


Sep. 12 Tuesday

Hello there! Wow, it sure has been quite a long time since I updated this site. I haven't forgotten, it is just that so many things have had to take up my time instead. Lots of exciting adult life things have been keeping me busy!

Despite this, Pokemon always finds a way to pop up in my life and bring me some joy!

For example, I came across these Pokemon cards. I couldn't keep any of them but I took great pleasure in looking at some of the beautiful, funny, and creative artwork. Please, take a look!

I have also really been enjoying keeping up with the artwork for the Pokemon and Hatsune Miku collaboration on serebii! I used to really love Vocaloid as a teen and Miku was always my favourite, so this is really cool! The designs are so interesting, especially when it comes to what the artist does with her hair! My favourite so far has to be the electric-type Miku trainer who seems to be a celebrity but also a mechanic, by kannu! And also ice-type Miku by kantaro...wow, she looks so cool! Gah! She almost reminds me of Cyrus there! I can't wait to see what else is next!

And of course, taking Giratina with me every single day makes me so happy. I actually lost my Pokewalker for about a week, and I really felt like I lost a limb XD I thought I had put it on my desk, but I had left it in a pair of shorts all along!

I wrote a little about what I've been getting up to in Pokemon White 2.

Until next time!


Apr. 6 Thursday

Hello there! I've been playing a lot of Pokemon Picross lately. I've realised with the shut of the eShop, I cannot buy in Picrates like I did when I played it a few years ago. This is a good thing I suppose as my bank account will thank me, but this will take me months and years of daily grinding! It's a good game though because I can slip in a few minutes of training in the morning. The areas cost so much to unlock however!

I also went out to town recently. I went to CEX, which is a trade in shop for media and electronics. I've kept my eye on Pokemon game prices for a while now, especially B2 because of course I need a copy of it. Today, B2 was £90, W2 was £85, and HG was £98! Madness! I know someone who might have a copy of B2 and I'm praying they'll let me trade keys lol.


Mar. 28 Tuesday

I don't play Pokemon Masters but Detective Steven looks too cool right here!

Also, rest in piece 3DS Store! I redownloaded Pokemon Picross and spent the last quid I had on some picrats.

Serebii Reminder: You have just two weeks left to make purchases of any desired Pokémon Nintendo 3DS or Wii U game on their eShops before they go down for new purchases on March 27th at 23:59 UTC.

You will still be able to download purchased games after.https://t.co/gDbXkHT3ar pic.twitter.com/TP2ZfeY78w

— Serebii.net (@SerebiiNet) March 13, 2023

Mar. 25 Saturday

Hello! I've been really enjoying updating this site.

I was listening to music when I heard Penny's theme for the first time. I can't believe they made such a hype song. When I make this rave page it will 100% be in there lol. I also have kind of been spoiled for SV because of the thumbnails of Pokemon OST videos which is a bit annoying but oh well. I managed to piece together most of the story just off of these, and I decided to skim TTar's playthrough of the last few finale episodes. The story was really well done and quite chilling, very dark...I can never fault Pokemon games for their music or plot but its reached a point now where it's just not a good enough excuse for me to try and force myself through an ugly, half finished, sluggish buggy unfinished gameplay. I might watch more of TTar's playthrough while I work for the lore stuff.

I also decided to see if I could spend the money I had lying about in my 3DS, so I got this cool Steven home theme. On the bottom screen is a manga panaroma, with a collage of artwork showing Steven with different characters and Pokemon. I love it!

It's a shame there's not more things on sale on the 3DS store, seeing as it will shut in a couple days! I was hoping at least the themes would be on offer, I'd have liked to got a couple more. Oh well. I deleted and reinstalled Pokemon Picross because I'd like to redo it. I'm excited for Pokemon Bank to be free, as years ago I accidently dropped a whole box from the Living Dex into my 3DS game but to put it back you have to pay for a pass! Fuck that!

My 3DS is kind of falling apart. The circle pad has completely come off from me putting coins underneath it so I could grind hatching eggs in the Battle Subway LOL


Mar. 20 Monday

Hi there! I thought I'd just share a general welcome here. If you know me from my previous site, welcome back! As you can see I have switched a lot of things up and worked harder on how this site looks. I decided to move sites for a little more freedom.

These Journals used to be called the 'Pokelogs'. I've decided to separate them by gen/game, and have this one for separate thoughts, as I feel this makes more sense. I had this idea when I visited sephiria's Pokemon pages, so I give them all the credit!

I have rewritten a lot of the old Pokelogs into these journals. For this page, I back dated a lot of stuff but added my commentary of now onto it. In the other Journals, I've posted recaps and will add as new stuff goes down.

Anyway, please look forward to the future of this site!


Pokemon Scarlet Thoughts, Dec. 2022

Today I want to talk about Pokemon Scarlet.

Despite the fact that I thought it did look really interesting plotwise from the first couple trailers, I had decided I was not going to get the game at all as I was just too disappionted with previous games. The lack of a proper National Dex really demotivates me to play!!

However, my good friend V pre-ordered it for me as a gift T__T Thank you so much V! So I decided to give it a go.

I went to pick it up in GAME, and I got lost inside the Sports Direct. I recieved a figure of the three starters which I gave back to V. From the trailers, I was hoping for a lot of time-based shenanigans, even perhaps links to PLA, as well as my suspicion that Professor Sada/Turo would be the Shitty Twist Villians.

I chose Spiragatto as a cat and grass type lover - I named him SPIRALISER. A lot of the new Pokemon are a surprise to me! I'm intruiged by this fire type that looks like a mecha anime character...I named him ANIME PROTAG. I have a couple personal rules when I play games - to base my team around the Elite Four, use only new Pokemon from that region, and more recently to not use the title Legendary. I had decided to omit the first rule as I didn't want to spoil the game, but I will still follow the other two.

As of early December, I had defeated two gyms, a Titan, and was about to take on Team Star for the first time. I'd spent most of my time enjoying the open world catching Pokemon for a Living Dex...And I have not really picked it up since.

I think this game has so, so much potential with it's ideas but it is destroyed by how buggy, slow, and low quality everything is. I was really bothered by how slow and laggy the battle screens are, like theres some seconds delay that just really don't need to be there. I hate that you can't turn off the battle animations which would maybe make it more tolerable. The transition from field to battle is shocking as well. I'm not usually one to be too bothered by how a game looks, but forcing the more realistic art style on the humans with the modern simplistic and rounded Pokemon designs to exist in such a textureless world is demotivating. The fact a lot of shops don't even have interiors struck me as lazy too. Despite Mesagoza being so grand, it felt so empty and lifeless. The attempt to bring a big 3D city to life failed here, and this is something I think has actually been an issue since the transition to 3D 10 years ago. The reason it worked so well in PLA is because...well, it's mostly open nature!

Credit where credit is due, I think Koraidon's design is really good and reminds me of early Pokemon designs. Imagine how it'd look with a few more sharper angles! I think the freedom to go as you please, and the school system, is realy interesting. I loved the new look for the Pokedex.

It amazes me how PLA, which was clearly like a test run for this engine in SV, pulled everything off so much better. It suffers from some of the problems I have just outlined but it was nowhere NEAR as buggy, clunky, or visually awful. I think I'll stick to this game, thanks!

As I mentioned before, I thought the plot had a lot of promise and from what I've heard, it is very good. Maybe I'll have to watch a playthrough or something instead while I work...

Maybe with patches and such since it's release, the buggy-ness will have been fixed. But it was enough on release to turn me off completely and I have a feeling I just won't enjoy it. I suppose it sounds sort of silly that I'm complaining about this game when I have a lot of philosophy on just playing old games, not mindlessly consuming new stuff when it's clear it'll never be like the old games etcetc but seeing as it was a gift I thought why not. It just made me sad if anything, but then I remembered I have so many rich Pokemon games I can play forever!


Sep. 24 Saturday 2022

Today I made Flower Paradise, a place to be grateful inspired by the gratitude Pokemon Shaymin. If you have something you're grateful for today, please feel free to use the cBox to share it. It can be something as simple as the weather or a food you enjoyed! Gratitude is something I really care about as it helped me change my life and is one of the many small things I do to fight depressive and negative thoughts. Even though Darkrai is part of the lunar duo, I always pair him up with Shaymin in my mind, as they're both event Pokemon. I love both of them dearly. In the Shaymin event in PLA, it made me so happy and joyfully tearful.


Jul. 2 Sunday 2022

Life has been chugging along...with little time allowed for me to chip away at living dexes.

I wrote an entry about BW today, and I was thinking about consumerism and Pokemon. I watched some TyranitarTube videos while working, and theres a few where he explores the reasons why games past gen 6 are so empty compared to whats avaliable in previous gens. Here's one of the videos. I have probably mentioned this before but this is the sort of thing that makes me decide to hyperfocus on this one set of games lol. I don't want to play something I don't love. I remember when SWSH, BDSP, and even SM/USUM were being announced and I just was not interested but I still blew my precious time and money on them anyway and havent revisited them at all. They were fun to play in the moment, but theres nothing that pulls me back. No good post-game or even really things to do, and they're just not on my mind the way GBA/DS games are. I regret moving all my Pokemon over to gen6+, because now my save files from 2008-2011 are empty with no Pokemon. I don't know what this ramble is, maybe I'll write a proper piece on it one day.

I also wanted to share this Sneasler card! My friend V is really big into the TGC, and got me this as he knows how much I love Sneasler T__T I'm so grateful!


Dec. 27 Monday 2021

I completed Pokemon Shining Pearl.

While it was fun to re-experience the Sinnoh region, and to challenge myself with only 4 Pokemon on my team, why the hell did I put myself and my bank account through this? Lol.


Dec. 13 Saturday 2014

This is the day my Palkia, Pattie, from my first pokemon save file in Pearl, reached level 100 in Pokemon Y. This was the first time I ever got a Pokemon to level 100.